re-painting my city-fixed bike

22Oct08

I love my bike. It’s not a particularly nice one, but it’s perfect for what I want. I like riding it, and I perfer to look good.. Unfortunately taking it to Australia twice and couriering four winters on it really wears out a paint job. Getting a bike prefessionally powder-coated makes for a sweet-looking ride, but it costs like $200. I’m a student, so I’ve got maybe $10 to spare. So I did it myself.

sanding the frame takes forever

sanding the frame takes forever

The first step was to strip the parts off the frame and sand the paint down. Sanding is the worst part, it takes hours and is by far the most unrewarding part.

I bought car paint from Canadian Tire. It was cheap and there were hundreds of colours to choose from. I chose a Ford custom grey-blue. There are probably thousands of cars out there that are exactly the same colour as my bike.

When I finished sanding, I took my bike outside and sprayed it down, and clear-coated over it.

Painting the frame was the fun part.

Painting the frame was the fun part.

This didn’t take long; I like spray painting. The front and back bits were taped off to make the bike a bit more dynamic.

Unfortunately, the paint chipped off super easily. I peeled off some of the blue paint with my thumb nail.

I had to stay in this position for hours to apply the heat evenly.

I had to stay in this position for hours to apply the heat evenly.

Most bike shops say that the only way to do the job properly is to get a professional to powder coat the frame. That’s because the professionals have a huge bike-oven they use to bake the paint onto the frame. Without intense heat, the paint won’t properly bond onto the metal.

A guy working at OCB said that he’s thought of setting up an oven in his basement. He admitted it would be hard not to burn the house down.

My brother suggested I use his heat-gun down at Vevex, where he works. I held the gun in one spot until the paint turned shiny and then I moved on. It was tedious.

But now my bike looks freakin sweet! And the paint is holding to my frame even better than the first paint job. It takes too long to do on a regualr basis, but maybe in a few years I’ll attempt this again.

Nice! ..I think the back wheel looks shiny because I've never used a break on it.

Nice!

-j.

2 Responses to “re-painting my city-fixed bike”

  1. 1 thisiswhatidoonweekends

    hey it looks really good! The colour change is really subtle but fresh. Yay to this DIY post, I just bought a chair at a garage sale for $5. I’m going to sand it, paint it, and re-upholster the cushion. Am inspired now to document it on this here blog.

  2. 2 jonnythegreat

    cool man, your bike is now lookin’ sick wicked. i like the grey-blue color you picked. its tone is very subtle and mature(nothing fancy, which is nice.)
    im sure i’d be feelin like cruisin’ on a Mustang if i ever get to ride it!


Leave a Reply

